Chakra Meditation

Chakra Meditation: Chakra Meditation is the best option in Yoga Shastra to prevent the mind from getting distracted. Chakra meditation awakens the Kundalini Shakti and this power brings all the chakras to the awakened state, making your disturbed mind steady and moving towards spirituality. Although there are hundreds of different chakras in the body, the focus is on the 7 chakras present in the body. In Saptachakra meditation, the mind is controlled and fixed on one center. Through this external thoughts are destroyed and inner and spiritual thoughts are awakened. In this meditation process, starting your sadhana from the Muladhara Chakra and focusing on the Sahasra Chakra. Chakra meditation leads to the development of emotional, physical, and spiritual life.


Origin of Chakra Sadhana:

Yoga is also one of the 6 systems of Indian Philosophy. The credit for the origin of Yoga Shastra goes to Maharishi Patanjali. Patanjali wrote Yoga Shastra about 2200 years ago, meditation is also a part of Ashtanga Yoga described in this scripture. Meditation brings mental and physical peace. Maharishi Patanjali described the 7 chakras of the body in Yoga Shastra, which are called Sapta Chakras. By concentrating on these seven chakras, you can attain spiritual knowledge. The seven chakras in the body are as follows-


1. Muladhara Chakra

According to Yoga Shastra, the place where the energy remains in a dormant state inside the body is called Muladhara Chakra. This chakra is situated between the sense organs and the anus. The color of this chakra is red and its shape is like a lotus with 4 petals. These four petals represent the tendencies of lust, longing, and whims. When the Mooladhara Chakra is awakened, sex, mental stability, and emotionally the senses begin to be controlled. The mantra of this meditation practice is long.


How to Wake up:

Morning walks, jogging, Swastikasana, Paschimottanasana, Kapalbhati Pranayama should be done regularly to awaken the Muladhara Chakra. This maintains mental and physical peace and stability. You can awaken it by controlling indulgence, sleep, and sexual intercourse.


2. Swadhisthana Chakra

The Swadhisthana Chakra is situated below the navel. It controls your reproductive organs and your imagination. This chakra intimately links your creative process. Its mantra is V and its base color is orange. The shape of this chakra is like a lotus with 6 petals.


How to Wake up:

To awaken this chakra, you have to do Shirshasana, Mandukasana, Kapalbhati regularly for 10 to 15 minutes. Along with this, fun and entertainment in life will have to be controlled.


3.Manipura Chakra

The Manipura Chakra is located on your belly just above the navel area. Apart from supporting your digestive system, this chakra also keeps your mental and spiritual emotions at bay. The mantra of this chakra is color and its color is yellow. The shape of Manipura Chakra is similar to that of a lotus flower with 10 petals.

When this chakra is awakened, a person is always in search of power and invention throughout his life.


How to Wake up:

You have to do Pawanmuktasana, Mandukasana, Muktasana, Bhastrika and Kapalbhati Pranayama regularly for Manipur Chakra.


4.Anahata Chakra

The Anahata Chakra is located in the center of the heart. It improves the function of the heart and lungs. When this chakra is awakened, feelings like deceit, violence, indiscretion, anxiety, attachment, fear are removed. Emotional sensations are awakened in the mind of the person. The color of this chakra is white and the mantra of this chakra is like this. The shape of Anahata Chakra is like 12 lotus petals.


How to Wake up

To awaken the Anahata Chakra, you should do Ustrasana, Bhujangasana, Ardhachakrasana, Bhastrika Pranayama daily.


5.Vishuddha Chakra

The Vishuddha Chakra is located in the neck. Meditation on this chakra creates spiritual and social welfare. Along with this, the feelings of disease, blame, fear, worry, grief, etc. By doing this chakra the basal metabolic rate is balanced and it purifies the body. The color of the Vishuddha Chakra is brown and its mantra is ‘Ham’. The shape of this chakra is like a lotus with 16 petals.


How to Wake up

To awaken the Vishuddha Chakra, you should do Halasana, Setubandha Asana, Sarvangasana, and Ujjayi Pranayama daily.


6. Aagya Chakra

Aagya Chakra is located on our forehead between the eyebrows. This chakra is the meeting place of mind and brain. By meditating on this chakra one’s eyes of knowledge are opened. Also, this chakra maintains mental stability and peace. The color of this chakra is golden and its mantra is Om. The shape of this chakra is like a lotus with two petals.


How to Wake up

To awaken the Aagya Chakra, you should do Sukhasana, Makarasana, Shavasana and Anulom-Vilom Pranayama daily.


7. Sahastra Chakra

The Sahastra Chakra is located on the top of the head. It automatically awakens when all the main 6 chakras are awakened. When all your primary chakras are balanced, the Sahasrara Chakra creates a powerful connection connecting you to the outside world. By meditating on this chakra one gets the destruction of sinful deeds, the power to control the mind, and the power to attain control over death. The color of this chakra is like a rainbow and it has many lotus-like petals.


Benefits of chakra meditation:

  • Doing chakra meditation in the right way can give you miraculous mental and physical benefits. So let us enlist some of the most important benefits of chakra meditation.
  • The physical and mental capacity of man is developed.
  • Enhances memory, concentration, and ability to concentrate.
  • It helps to calm the mind and achieve better sleep quality.
  • It helps in removing calories in the body and reducing weight.
  • It reduces the level of anger and depression.
  • Increases creativity and productivity.
  • It reduces the level of anxiety and stress.
  • Brings a positive change in attitude in terms of perception of behavior and thought processes.
  • By meditating on the Saptachakra one attains divine vision, divine power, and divine knowledge.
  • Helps in maintaining a balance between worldly and spiritual power. 

If you want to explore and learn more about yoga poses, you can join the Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh, India.

Back To Top